Search Site | Library Home
Articles | Books & more | Help | Library Information  

Simmons Choices III CD ROM User Guide

Prepared by Hazel Cameron
September 2002  Revised November 2005

Overview

I.   Introduction
II.  Steps to Using Choices III
III. Glossary of Terms

I. Introduction

a) What Choices III covers

Simmons Choices III is a useful marketing and advertising database.  It allows you to analyze the consumer buying habits in the United States. The data was collected from several surveys of more than 5000 questions asked of more than 30000 adults each year. The findings from this sample are then projected to reflect the general population.

b) Limitations of Choices III

c) Where you can access Choices III

Simmons Choices III CD ROM is located on the Choices II workstation in the Reference Section, Haggard Wing of the Wilson Library. It cannot be accessed remotely from your home or through Parks Hall lab. You must be in the library   to use it.  Only one person can use it at a time.  Therefore, please do not leave your assignment to the last minute.  The machine is first come first serve.  We do not have a booking system.

There is a detailed instruction manual entitled "Choices III User Manual" located at the Reference Desk.  It has a call number of HC110 C6 C47 manual. It provides much more detail than this handout. Results from Choices III may be sorted and the data exported to Excel.  Excel is available on Station 7 so you may view or print out your results.

d) Starting the Simmons Database

From the desktop choose the Choices icon. 

e) The Main Screen

There are five main sections to this screen.  Each of these are sometimes called worksheet areas.

Area 1: Data Access (Question) Screen
Area 2: Answer Screen
Area 3: Columns/Targets
Area 4: Rows/Media

coding box

Area 5: Coding box

II. Steps to Using Choices III                                                   

Step 1: Analyze your question or information need
Step 2:  Select the filter (if required)
Step 3: Access the Data
Step 4: Complex Data Manipulation
Step 5: Select Columns
Step 6: Select Rows
Step 7: Redoing or altering your search
Step 8: Select and View Results
Step 9: Sort or Highlight Results
Step 10: Save results, export to Excel
Step 11: Interpret your Data
Step 12: Exit Choices III

  

Step 1: Analyze your question or information need

Before using the Choices database, analyze your question and break it down into three categories:

(a) Filter – The filter is your base of consumers.  It usually reflects some aspect of a population; and is usually demographic in nature. For example all people between 24 and 39, all females, all persons with a certain occupation, those of a certain marital status, race, etc. What you choose must be considered as a single unit.  If you need to know the difference between aspects of a population, you cannot use this variable as a filter as you would require two variables.  Filters are discussed in more detail in Step 2.

 (b) Columns–Data found in columns usually identifies an activity or group of activities, products, or services. Example: roller skating, lawn mowers, volunteering, etc.  This category may also include usage (uses a brand daily, weekly, monthly), or  a brand name. Bear in mind that there is a limit to how many columns that will fit across your page.  Columns are discussed in detail in Step 5. 

(c) Rows–The data in rows identifies the media, eg. magazines, newspapers) or other variables you want to track.  This might include ethnic group, age ranges, etc.  Generally a rule of thumb is that your largest category of variables you are tracking should go in the rows. Rows are discussed in detail in Step 6.

These three categories correspond to the methods the database uses to compile results.  The data from your question may not fall neatly into these three categories. Look at the data you have.  Just select the best category possible for the data you have keeping in mind that the filter can only have one variable or combined search statement.

Example:  I want to know about male consumers habits in buying cook books.  I particularly want to know if they buy directly from a store, by phone order or mail order.  I would like to know the differences in buying habits by age group.

Analyze the question like this:

Filter
(Customer Base)
Males
Columns
(Activities, Products, etc)
1. buying cookbooks from the store
  2. buying cookbooks using the telephone
  3. buying cookbooks by mail order
Rows (Media, or other variables) age groups ( you should select as many different age groups as are given.  Each of these will be considered separately)

You are ready to start searching.

Step 2:  Select the filter.

Is your customer base the entire population surveyed? 

filtertab

Figure 2: The Filter Tab

Step 3:  Access the Data

The left side of the main screen and central portion (Figure 3) is called the Dictionary Browser. This is where you find the choices (or data) that you put into the filter, columns and row areas, and where the answers are generated. 

For simplicity, I have broken this down into 2 areas: the Data Access Screen (the screen on the left) and the Answer screen (the central screen).  In the Data Access screen you will see displayed a list of categories (or Questions) that provide access to information on markets, products, consumers, media, etc. which were collected by the survey. You may browse or search the data.  This area has several screens controlled by tabs located at the bottom of the dictionary browser. The default is the Questions screen.  Others include Favorites, Recent, Frequent, Net, Media and Alpha (alphabetic).

Browsing the data:

The categories within the Questions area automatically appear when you first start the database.  If they do not appear, click on the Questions Tab situated below the Dictionary Browser.

Other data is available through the Media tab.  Select this option if you were looking for something related to media. 

For this example, use the Questions Tab. Find the category that is most likely to have the information you want.

Click on the plus (+) sign in front of this category to see the subcategories, which will display in the same window- -a question sign appears next to the subcategories.

If you do not find what you want, click on the minus sign (-) to collapse this subcategory and try another category. Again click on the + sign. 

dictionarybrowsershowingquestionstab

Figure 3: Dictionary Browser showing the Questions Tab

Browse the subcategories to find what you are looking for.  Choose a category of interest and click on it. The answers will pop up in the central answer box.  (Figure 4)

answerscreen

Figure 4: The Answer box (central screen)

In our example we wanted to research all men. 

filter icon
Figure 5: The Filter Icon

If you have a complex search which requires you to combine terms, then proceed to step 4.

To search for data:

a) Click on the search icon (shaped like binoculars) located directly above the Data Access Area (Figure 6).  This brings up the dictionary word search. 

searchicon
Figure 6: Search Icon

(b)  Enter your search term. Notice that just below the search screen you have the option to increase or decrease the number of characters it searches to "match" your term with the database terms  In our example (Figure 7) we have set this to read 3.  You have the option to increase or decrease this setting by pressing the up or down arrow.  Then press Search.  All terms similar to your word will appear.  Highlight your choice  If you cannot find your search term try a synonym, or alternatively browse the database (described on p.4) to locate your data.  Don’t forget that if the product was not surveyed you will not find it.     

dictionarywordsearch
  Figure 7: Searching for "Male". 

c) Click on the button at the bottom left screen labeled "Find in Dictionary." A list of folders will appear in the Data Access area (Figure 8).

d) Your search now appears on the Alpha tab in the dictionary browser.  You must click on the + sign in front of each folder to see the subcategories. These will display in the same window or if there are no more categories will display in the central answer box.

sample search

Figure 8: Sample search for Male

Alternatively, you may right click on the highlighted word with the mouse and choose "Add Filters." This moves this word to the filter page.  Proceed to Step 5.

If you have a complex search which requires you to combine terms then proceed to step 4. 

Step 4:  Complex Data Manipulation (using the coding box)

On the bottom part of the screen you will see the Coding box. (Figure 9, and also area 5 on the Main Screen diagram)

codingbox

Figure 9: Coding box

It is used when you need to combine or eliminate data.  Our filter or base does not require us to use complex data manipulation.  In our example, however we want to look at age groups. When scanning the data we discover that each age group is surveyed separately from age 18 through 21 and then age 22 to age 24 are surveyed together.  All of the rest of the age groups seem to be in batches of 5. We decide we want to combine age 20-24 together.

Access data by searching the dictionary or through browsing, then select the variable and click on the coding (….) icon (Figure 10) located above the central answer box.  This will send the result to the central workspace area of the Coding box.

   coding icon
 Figure 10: Coding Icon

Alternatively you may right click and choose "Add to coding." 

Next, you need to add a Boolean or logic operator to connect your terms.  Put your cursor at the end of the word that you just added, and then click your mouse.  Then move the mouse and click on the choice of Boolean operator. You do this by using AND, OR, NOT or XOR.  The icons for these are found just below the central coding box.  Mouse over the icons to see which one corresponds to the operator you want. 

Boolean Operator Icon Function
And boolean and Gives the intersection of sets such as all women who eat peanut butter
Or or Includes everything in two sets. Example: jam or jelly
Not not Excludes something from a set
XOR eitheror Retrieves people who use either butter or margarine but not both

To add your next term, browse or search again, highlight the answer in the central answer box and click on the (…) coding icon coding icon

 Link terms by adding Boolean operators.  Do this as many times as required.  All key words now appear in the central work area of the coding box.  Use brackets around keywords to separate "or" and "and" operator expressions if there are several concepts.  The brackets are located just below the central work area next to the operators.  This allows your search to be processed in a logical order.

 In our example we search for our age groups and select various groups.  There are 2 ways to do this:

a) Browse or search for age.  From the answer box, highlight 20 and click on the coding icon. Put cursor at the end of the number and then add the OR operator in the coding box by clicking on the OR operator.  Move back up to the answer box, and choose 21, repeat the process.  Choose 22-24 and repeat the process. Then put the cursor at the beginning of 20 and click. 

b) Browse or search for age.  From the answer box, highlight the desired age groups  from the answer box. Right click and choose COMBINE, send the answers to the coding box by clicking on the coding icon.

The coding box now has an expression that looks like this:

 AGE20 OR AGE21 OR AGE2224

Once you have completed your search expression go to the description box just above the central coding box.  Click in this box and type a statement which describes your search.  This is something you make up that describes your search (such as "ages between 20 and 24").

From below the coding box select your Filter Icon and click on it. filter icon  This moves the description statement to the filter area.  If you use the Coding Icon coding iconfor column or row choices, you need to click on these icons.

 

Step 5: Select Columns/Targets

The Columns/Targets area is on the far right. (Figure 11) The entire right area is known as the Table Statistics area.  Data in columns/targets usually identifies an activity or group of activities, products, or services.

columns screen
Figure 11: Columns

Search or browse terms you have identified as belonging to the "columns" area.  Your sub-categories will display in the central answer box.  Unlike the filter, you can choose more than one choice to move into the columns area.  This is useful if you want to see the differences between concepts. You probably want to limit your choices to 5-6 to make the Excel spreadsheet easier to use. 

If you choose to browse and the categories disappear, click on the question tab below the Dictionary Browser.

There are several ways you can do this.  You need to choose the method that matches your need.

Method 1:  You can choose more than one category from your search. 

column icon
Figure 12: Columns icon

Alternatively, right click and choose "Add Columns/Target." 
Repeat this process, searching for a new category, scrolling or choosing sub-categories and choosing a new answer from the answer box and moving it to the Columns.

Method 2:  Choose a single category but choose more than one sub-category from your search. 

Alternatively, right click and choose "Add Columns/Target." 
Repeat this process, choosing a sub-category which is already on the screen, and choosing a new answer from the answer box and moving it to the Columns.

Method 3:  You can select a single category, a  single sub-category or several sub-categories, and then choose several answers from the central answer box. 

Alternatively, right click and choose "Add Columns/Target." 
You can use the Shift and Control keys to highlight several answers at the same time.

In our example (Figure 13) we found a category "shopping" and saw the various subcategories that matched. We needed to use Method 2 above as we had one category to search but wanted to choose 3 different subcategories. 

First, we chose "Hardcover/Paperback books – items ordered".  Many kinds of hardcover/paperback books popped up in the answer box.  We chose "cookbooks" and clicked on the column icon which moved this answer into the columns/target area.

We also choose "Mail Order - items ordered".

Finally, we chose the subcategory "Phone order –items ordered" from the main screen, and it also popped up a wide variety of items that a consumer could order over the phone.  We chose cookbooks from this list, clicked on the column icon and moved it into the columns. 

The result was 3 items in our columns.

If you wanted to combine any of the categories you can use the Coding box outlined in step 4.  Your results would naturally be sent to columns.

 

Figure 13: Sample search for column information

Step 6:  Select Rows/Media

The Rows/Media area is on the far right just below the Columns/Targets workspace.  (See Figure 14) The entire right area is known as the Table Statistics area.  The data in rows generally identifies the media (eg magazines, newspsamplesearchcolumnapers) or other variables you want to track that do not fit in the columns.  This might include ethnic group, age ranges, etc. 

rowmediascreen
Figure 14: Rows

Choose to search or browse for your terms to put in rows.  Your sub categories will display in the central answer box.  Unlike filters, you can choose as many rows as you want.  You will usually have more rows than columns.

If you choose to browse and the categories disappear, click on the question tab below the Dictionary Browser.

There are several ways you choose rows:

Method 1:  You can choose more than one category from your search. 

row icon
Figure 15: Row icon

Alternatively, right click and choose "Add Row/Media."

Method 2: You can select a single category and then choose several subcategories with their answers from the central box. 

Alternatively, right click and choose "Add Row/Media."

Method 3:  You can select a single category, a single subcategory or several subcategories and then choose several answers from the answer box. 

In our example we are interested in a variety of ages.  We chose the subcategory Age from the category Lifestyle (Demographics) which appeared on the Data Access area. Several age groups pop into the answer box. (See Figure 16).  We then right clicked, to select All and moved these to the rows by hitting the row icon.

example of rows

Figure 16: Examples of our rows

In our example, our data is not media.  If you are looking for the names of magazines, newspapers, types of print media or audience estimates, you can click on the Media tab located at the bottom of the Dictionary Browser. 

Step 7: Redoing or altering your search

Redo or alter your search by adding and removing items from the various screen or worksheet areas. This can be done from within each worksheet area, or from a common editing Table. 

Common changes include:

Moving an entry from one worksheet or screen area to another -- Highlight the entry on the screen, right click the mouse and choose Move to and then from the pull down menu, choose the category or screen area where you wish to move the entry. If you need to move more than one entry, then hold the shift key down to highlight the required entries.

Deleting an entry -- Highlight the entry by clicking on it. Right click the mouse and choose Delete from the menu.

Revising a statement -- Highlight the statement by clicking on it. Press the right mouse button and choose Move to. From the drop down menu, choose Coding box.  The statement will appear in the Coding box. Highlight the area of the coding you want to revise.  You can cut it and then highlight a new code to replace it, or alternatively, just select the new code and highlight it and send it to the coding box.  It will automatically replace the old code.

Let’s go back to step 4.  We had a search statement which we devised called "males between 18 and 24".  We actually did not use this in our real search, but if we had chosen this as our target, we would then see it on our screen by pressing the filter tab under the Rows area of the screen.  We would then highlight this, and right click our mouse and choose "Move to."  From the drop down menu we would choose Coding box.

In the coding box we would now find the search description "Males between 18 and 24" as well as our search expression:

       MALE AND (AGE18 OR AGE19 OR AGE20 OR AGE21 OR AGE2224)

Say we wanted to add in age 25-30.  We can put our cursor after the 24 and add an OR, we then perform our search for this age group, select it by highlighting it, and then select coding box.  This will put it in our expression.  We then need to change our search expression. We can then transfer it back to the filter area, by clicking the filter icon.

Using a Common editing table

If you have several things to edit you can click on the table editor.  This icon looks like a square divided into 4 with a red pen and appears on the top bar across the screen. (Figure 17)

editingtableicon
Figure 17: Editing Table

Alternatively, click on the icon or select Coding, then Edit Table from the tool bar. 

This table allows you to insert a title for your search.  A table will appear showing all inputs. (Figure 18)  You can merely highlight (by clicking on it) a term you want changed and then choose one of the options along the top tool bar.  These include cut, copy, delete a single row from within a search category, or the entire category.  It also allows you to search for a particular term and replace it with another.

When done editing, click on the "return to Coding Window" icon located at the top left corner of the tool bar.

tableeditorscreen

  Figure 18: Table editor screen

Step 8:  Select and View Results

When you have finished your search, you are ready to view your results.  Select the Run Analysis icon from the top bar. This looks like an Excel spread sheet with rows and columns. (Figure 19)

runanalysisicon
Figure 19: Run Analysis icon

Processing will begin.

analysisreport

Figure 20: Analysis Reports

crosstabviewerscreen

Figure 21:  Crosstab view

 

Step 9: Sort or Highlight

It is possible to sort your information.  This is useful to determine which variables have a greater impact on your product(s).  To sort choose which column you want to sort. Highlight the column or row to be sorted by clicking on the heading.  Select the appropriate sort buttons (ascending or descending).  In the element screen, choose to sort on the Index value.

You can also have cells of your table highlighted to reveal amounts above or below a certain level. Select the Highlighting criteria button (which looks like a highlighter pen).  Choose the index value, then choose and operator such as -, < or > and then insert the value.

Step 10: Save Results and export to Excel

To save the data, insert a disk in the A drive. Save it by selecting File, then choose Export Spreadsheet (CSV) file.  In the pop up window, save the data to the "A" drive.  Type in the "filename" box a:\filename.csv (filename is any name you choose). 

A CSV export window will pop up.  Choose all the cell elements up to and including index by highlighting them.  On the right hand side you have two options:

It is now best to look at the data which you exported.  Open Excel on the desktop. You  need  to import your data to excel. 

Step 11: Interpret your data

Sample – the total in the sample size, in other words the number of respondents that were interviewed. The next line is labeled 000.  This is the total projected number of people (in the US ) who met the criteria. The data is in thousands.

Vertical%- the % of people who met the characteristic defined by the column.

Horizontal% - the % of people who met the characteristic defined by the row.

Index – the likelihood of meeting both column and row characteristics. An index of 100 means that this is the average.  Greater than 100 means greater than average, and less than 100 means lower than average.

The following is a result of our search for cook books.

     Elements Total Hardcover books/ Paperback cook books What this means:
Total   Sample  1211 98 The number of respondents interviewed.  Here 1211 in total were interviewed.  98 in the sample bought hardcopy/paperback cook books.
(000) 7705 716 The projected number of people in the population. 
  Vert % 100 100   All respondents were males.
  Horz % 100 9.3 Approximately 9.3% of men buy hardcover or paperback cook books
Index 100 100  
Sample 108 25  
(000) 951 268  
 Vert% 12.3 37.4  
  Horz% 100.0 28.1  
Index 100 303 Men age 18-24 are 203% more likely to purchase paperback or hardcopy cookbooks.
Sample 292 220  
(000) 1838 1870  
   Vert  % 23.9 24.3  
   Horz  % 100.0 100  
Index 100 100 Men age 35-44 purchase an average number of paper back or hardcover cook books.
 

The following, using results from a different search, demonstrates how percentages and index values are derived.

 

 

 

Step 12: Printing and Exiting Choices III

Unfortunately you cannot print your results from the Station in the library.  You need to take your disk to the lab to have it printed out.
To exit, pull down the File menu and choose Exit.  Do not save any work.


III. Glossary of Terms

Answer Box – The central screen area which provides a selection of answers from your search query.

Boolean Operator – These are expressions used to combine terms together.  They include AND, OR, XOR, or NOT.

Coding Box – This is an area for creating complex search expressions.  You need to combine your variables with other variables using a range of logic or Boolean operators.

Columns/Targets – This is found in the Table Statistics area on the right side of the screen.  Data found in the columns in your output. It usually identifies an activity, product or service.

Crosstab – A type of analysis which compares two or more variables to determine how they  effect one another.  The Crosstab Viewer allows you to sort the data, highlight criteria, graph to Excel and perform a wide variety of other functions. To get to the viewer select the Run Analysis Icon  runanalysisicon from the top bar, click on the + sign beside the folder and choose the Crosstab View.

CSV Output – Your output is automatically saved as a comma separated values (CSV) file.  This allows it to be imported to many different programs including Excel.

Dictionary Browser –  The area on the Main Screen that allows you to browse through the data compiled by the survey and provides the answers.  It is composed of the Data Access area and Answer box.

Dictionary Search dictionarysearchicon A feature of Choices III that allows you to search for data in the survey.  The Dictionary search icon looks like binoculars.

Editing Tableeditingtableicon This is a special feature of Choices III that allows you to edit all your data at one time.  The Editing Table icon is found on the main menu tool bar.  

Filter– This is your base of consumers. You do not need a filter if you are looking at the entire population surveyed.

Highlighting – Choose the highlighter pen option once you run your analysis to have cells of your table highlighted to reveal amounts above or below a certain level. 

Rows/Media – This is found in the Table Statistics area on the right side of the screen. Data found in the rows of your output.  This data is generally some sort of media, but could be some other variables as well.