| Articles | Books & more | Help | Library Information |
Financial Accounting Research System (FARS)
The Financial Accounting Research System is a CD ROM product located in Haggard 2 Reference HF5661 .W35 2003. This CD is a component of the book entitled Mastery of the Financial Accounting Research System (FARS) through cases written by Wanda A. Wallace.
This CD ROM contains the latest Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) standards. The electronic version allows for easy searching across all the standards at once.
How to use the CD Rom
Take the CD to one of the CD viewing stations located on Haggard 2. Ask a Librarian for assistance if required.
Insert the CD into "Drive D" of the machine. Click on "my computer" and select "Drive D". It should automatically load and open. Be patient while the program loads.
Contents on the CD ROM
The CD is comprised of 6 "infobases".
a) Original Pronouncements - contains all AICPA
and FASB pronouncements. They are arranged chronologically.
b) Current Text- contains General Standards,
Industry Standards and the Current Text sections that have been
superseded but are still applicable due to a delayed effective date.
c) EITF Abstracts - includes full text and
abstract for issues discussed by the Emerging Issues Task Force.
d) Implementation Guide - contains questions, answers and
guidance for implementation of key standards.
e) Derivative Instruments
and Hedging Activities - Presents implementation procedures for FASB
Statement 133, 137 and 138.
f) Topical Index - combined topical index for the
above
The CD also contains a reference guide which explains how to use the system.
Sample of the Infobases

You can open an infobase in several ways:
I clicked on "Original Pronouncements". This is a list of the table of contents.
b) You can also open an infobase by choosing "Open"
from the file menu and then choosing the infobase you want to open.
Finding Information within the Infobases There are
several different ways to access the data within the various infobases: a)
Browsing
1. Choosing a specific infobase This is a great method to
use if you know where you are going to find the information. Clicking on
a specific infobase displays the contents. You can then
drill down by selecting the diamond icon
Choosing FAS 1 I will see the entire document.
2. Use the Topical Index
This browses the table of contents of all the infobases at the same time. Select
"topical index" from the menu. You
will see a series of letters appear in alphabetic order on the screen.
Choose a letter that corresponds with the first letter of your topic. This
will list terms that begin with that letter. If you click a term you will find underlying links. eg:
Plant closings
Choosing P, then scroll down. You will see the database provides cross
references. b)
Searching
The query function is by far the best method as it searches within documents.
You can search across all infobases at once by choosing Topic Index.
Once you have chosen the Topic Index then:
Enter your search term
or terms and click ok. Hits to your
query will show up. You can move through the results by choosing next or
previous hit. The FARS database supports various operators
within the query function: To
find both concepts: dog and cat
dog cat To find either concept: dog or cat
dog/cat To find one concept and not the other: dog not cat To find
either concept: dog xor cat Phrase searching: "to be or not to be"
Wild card *
Search results for the search: retail method* and inventor*
3. Search Limits By typing a left square bracket, you will be able to
limit your search to various parts of a document. You can limit to
information in the notes (footnotes), content, heading, and various other
choices.
Opening an Infobase
a) Click on your choice of infobases. This will display the table of
contents for that item.
The title bar at the top will tell you what infobase you are in.

By
clicking the diamond I get a list of these standards:
until you find what you want.
In the above example I might choose:![]()

![]()
PLANT CLOSINGS
See Business Combinations (APB 16)
See Business Combinations (FAS 141)
Duplicate Facilities following a
Purchase Business Combination
. . Costs of Closing Duplicate Facilities
of an Acquirer FTB85-5, ¶1-2 B50.651-652 EITF.84-35
B51.501-502
1. The Query Function
Click on the Query button on the tool bar. It looks like a set
of binoculars.
2. Search Operators![]()

The results
Any search will result in a sequence of references. As shown above this appears in three columns.
Column 1: The first column gives the FASB statement number
Column 2: The second column gives a paragraph number within the statement
Column 3: The final column gives and EITF or Q&A or other implementation procedure reference.
Any reference to a footnote
appears in red text.
Viewing the data You can look at the information in an infobase in
many ways. The default is the document view. Various view windows are accessible through a tab at the bottom.
![]()
The different views, what they show and when you use them are outlined in the table below.
| View name | shows document reference | shows document table of contents | shows hit list | use |
| content/document | yes | yes | yes | to see all related information at one time |
| document | yes | yes | default view | |
| content | yes | |||
| hit list | yes | |||
| object | to display any linked objects. |
Viewing the Documents
Simply click on the reference links to find the text or paragraph required in the FASB publications.
In the above example I clicked on ARB43, Ch.4, 10. This is what appears. Notice that the header gives you the chapter and paragraph. The full text is written below it.

Marking Records
You can mark records by tagging them. Use the Tag record button on
the toolbar
. Tagged records may be collected into a single view for
viewing or printing.
Printing and exporting
To print, select the records you wish to print and choose print from the file menu. You may also select the printer button on the toolbar.
You can export text to various file formats.
Choose the export button on the toolbar and then choose an appropriate format
to export the file
.
________________________________________________________________________
Created: September 15, 2003 Updated by Hazel Cameron: 03 Jan 2007
(c) All rights reserved.